UK and International School Specialists
Working with over 5000 schools in the UK
Over 800 International Schools in more than 65 countries.
Joshua Seigal
Joshua Seigal

All About Joshua Seigal

Joshua Seigal is a London-based poet, performer, writer and workshop leader. He has performed his unique brand of accessible, engaging and interactive poetry all over the world, and is a full-time visitor of schools and other institutions where he  aims to inspire confidence and creativity in literacy and communication.


Joshua’s Performances

Joshua brings poetry to life with his engaging, dynamic performances. He can perform for up to an hour, and has performed at the following prestigious events:

  • Edinburgh International Book Festival
  • Edinburgh Festival Fringe
  • Cheltenham Literature Festival
  • Bath Children’s Literature Festival
  • Jersey Festival of Words
  • Sharjah Children’s Book Festival (UAE)

Joshua’s School Visits

Based in Barnet, on the border of London and Hertfordshire. Joshua is willing to work in any area of the country with children of all ages and abilities. He specialises in working with primary and young secondary pupils.

In his workshops, Joshua aims to use to poetry to enable children of all ages and abilities to develop confidence and creativity in communication. This can tie in with any area of the curriculum, including: National Poetry Day, World Book Day, Anti-Bullying Week, healthy eating, PSHE, sports, animals, emotions, and much more. Several participants in Joshua’s workshops have gone on to win awards for their poetry!

A typical day would begin with a performance followed by around four workshops for whole classes, each lasting around 50 minutes. Workshops focus on developing literacy skills and having fun with words in a creative, supportive and non-judgemental atmosphere. He is also able to work with specific groups of pupils, such as G&T or reluctant writers and being a young male author means that Joshua is ideally situated to enthuse boys about literacy.

Performances for KS1 and foundation stages typically last around 30 mins, whilst performances for KS2 and KS3 last around 45 mins.

KS1 workshops typically last around 30 minutes and involve modelling a poem on the board. His aim in KS2 and KS3 workshops is for each pupil to have produced their own piece of work and to have had fun doing so!

Joshua prides himself on his flexibility and is happy to accommodate the individual requirements of each school. Previous school visits have resulted in pupils producing award-winning poetry!


Joshua’s Books

Joshua has had poems published in numerous magazines, journals and anthologies, notably the recent children’s anthology Off By Heart (Bloomsbury), edited by Roger Stevens.


I Don’t Like Poetry (Bloomsbury), age 7-11

Packed full of silly, funny, or downright hilarious poems (with a few serious ones mixed in) this brilliant collection from exciting young poet, Joshua Seigal is perfect for fans of Michael Rosen and anyone else who needs a giggle. If you like poetry, you’ll like this book. And if you don’t like poetry you’ll LOVE it!

‘When you read this book, the windows will burp and the grass will turn blue. That’s how magic these poems are.’ Michael Rosen

‘If…you still think ‘I don’t like poetry,’ this might be the collection for you: Joshua Seigal’s very imaginative and wonderful collection.’ Nicolette Jones, The Times

With poems on every topic from the power of books to the joys of fried chicken, this collection a fabulous mix of Joshua Seigal’s subversive humour and insight into the world of children. If you don’t like poetry after reading this, there’s probably something wrong with you!

Little Lemur Laughing (Bloomsbury), age 3-7

Packed full of silly, funny, or downright hilarious poems (with a few serious ones mixed in) this brilliant follow up to the brilliant I Don’t Like Poetry from exciting young poet, Joshua Seigal is perfect for fans of Michael Rosen and anyone else who needs a giggle. “Joshua Seigal is a rising star in the children s poetry world and this new collection of his poems will be a real crowd-pleaser.” ( “This is a little gem of a poetry book… Joshua Seigal is definitely my new favourite poet.” (Books for Keeps) Covering everything from spaghetti-eating dogs to conkers and from the joy of stickers to a stomping brontosaurus, Joshua Seigal’s child’s-eye view of the world makes these poems accessible and fun: perfect for young readers aged five and upwards. Before you know it, you’ll be LAUGHING LIKE A LEMUR!

Morris Wants More (Flying Eye), age 3-7

Prince Morris is used to getting everything he wants, and this Christmas he wants the biggest and best present ever! But how big is enough for Morris?

Inspired by the well-loved traditional carol, this modern version tells the story of a very spoiled little prince who will not be satisfied until he has the most massive present imaginable!

Just Like Me (Flying Eye), age 0-5.

Can you stretch up high? Can you try to fly? These animals can do it, and so can you!

Children will love acting out the movements in this fun and interactive picture book from award-winning poet Joshua Seigal and French illustrator Amelie Faliere.


Yuk and Yum

A joint work completed with another one of our poets, Neal Zetter. This hilarious collection of food related poems is suitable for ages 6-13.

Samples of Joshua’s Poetry

Let’s Hear It For Teachers by Joshua Seigal 

Let’s hear it for teachers,
A curious crew.
There isn’t a limit
To what they will do –

They mark all your work
And they do not despair
When you still cannot tell
Between ‘there’, ‘their’ and ‘they’re’.

They tell you the same thing
Again and again
While you sit staring blankly
And chewing your pen.

Sometimes their job
Isn’t terribly fun,
With scary inspectors
And scarier mums,

And screaming young children
And meddling MPs
Picking holes in their work
Like a lump of Swiss cheese.

But listen to me
For I swear that it’s true:
The reason they teach is
They care about you.

The reason they get up
At stupid o’clock
Is to give you the key
That will open the lock.

They’re desperate to help you
To be at your best,
To be better people
(Not just pass a test),

To do well, to think well
And walk tall with pride,
Let’s hear it for teachers,
For there their thery’re on your side.

Reviews and Recommendations

“A young poet who I think has a great future in the world of children’s poetry” Brian Moses

“Joshua Seigal is exactly the kind of person to interest children in poetry” Three Weeks Edinburgh

“One can’t help but like Joshua Seigal. He is so full of bounce yet completely unflappable, both key qualities when working as a children’s entertainer” Broadway Baby

“Very imaginative and wonderful” The Sunday Times

“Your session was brilliant. Thank you so much” Mary Myatt – Ofsted Lead Inspector

“Magic” Michael Rosen

“Joshua was absolutely amazing. The children loved him, as did all the adults that saw him too. He performed to every age child in the school, from Nursery to Year 6 and it worked at every level. He is truly inspirational. I would love to have him back for a return visit sometime in the future.” Sharon Cook, Librarian, Queenborough School, Kent

To Make a Booking

To make an enquiry about Joshua Seigal, or any of the other authors, poets & illustrators listed on this website, please phone Trevor Wilson on +44 (0) 1535 656015, or email him at